Find a Music Therapist (MT-BC) in Wisconsin!

To find a music therapist in your area, you can sort by clicking on “zip code” or “city”.  To find out more information about a specific music therapist (for example, if they are currently taking new clients), click on the music therapists’ name.

NameemailCityZipcode
Jody Tucker jody@accessmusictherapy.com Duluth 55807
Andrew Neary Andrew@spareWingsStudio.com South Milwaukee 53172
Bonnie Jean Barczak bjbarczak@yahoo.com Milwaukee 53220
Brenna Liebold brenna@livingmelodies.com Greenfield 53220
Carly Ramthun carly.mt.bc@gmail.com McFarland 53558
Chelsea Josephson chelsea.josephson@gmail.com La Crosse 54601
Danielle Rieckhoff Daniellemarierieckhoff@gmail.com Mosinee 54455
Elizabeth Pupeter epupeter@aol.com Oshkosh 54902
Erica Flores erica@hhmusictherapy.com Brookfield 53005
Hannah Goodness hgoodness@stanncenter.org Milwaukee 53207
Sarah Hudziak hudziaks@gmail.com Janesville 53546
Ingrid Gruett info@middletonmusictherapy.com Middleton 53562-3213
Jessica Thering jrthering@gmail.com Milwaukee 53214
Kathy Schumacher kathy@tunefulteaching.com Oshkosh 54903
Kim Bartlett kbartlettrhodes@gmail.com RACINE 53402
Jordyn Lasowski jordyn@hhmusictherapy.com Milwaukee 53210
Ellen Meyer ellenkudronowicz@yahoo.com West Allis 53219
Lisa Friedrich lafriedrich75@gmail.com Racine 53402
Lisa Paulson Lisa.paulson@hhch.net Slinger 53086
Mary Shafarik mary@liferhythmsmt.com Wausau 54401
Melissa Cole mcole.mtbc@gmail.com Mt. Horeb 53572
Melissa Stockwell mstockwell@norcen.org Wausau 54403
Lynnae Sis novaklrmt@gmail.com West Allis 53214
Rory Bolton rbolt543@gmail.com Greenfield 53228
Rebecca Frize rebecca.frize@outlook.com Fond du Lac 54935
Rachel Miller remiller124@gmail.com Wauwatosa 53226
Richelle Kroening Richelle@mtscw.com Kronenwetter 54455
Samantha Springer sammy.n.springer@outlook.com Waunakee 53597
Sara Devine sara@expressivetherapies.net Appleton 54911
Sheila Wall sheila@musictherapist.co Eau Claire 54701
Sarah Kolander sarah@lihmt.com West Salem 54669
Stephanie Appleton Stephanie.appleton@hcr-manorcare.com Madison 53703
Tamra Fricke tamralfricke@gmail.com Burlington 53105
Dr. Dale Taylor bartonpub@ymail.com Eau Claire 54703
Tom Brefka tb.milwaukee@gmail.com Franklin 53132
Tiffany Vollrath Tiffany.vollrath@gmail.com Oshkosh 54904

Music Therapy Training Defined

  • The credential MT-BC stand for Music Therapist Board Certified
  • The licensure WMTR stands for Wisconsin Music Therapist Registered
  • The certification NMT stands for Neurologic Music Therapist
  • The certification HPMT stands for Hospice and Palliative Care Music Therapist

A credential in music therapy (MT-BC) is issued by a third party with authoritative power (Certification Board for Music Therapists), and is proof of an individual’s qualification, capability and competence in the professional field of music therapy.  Possessing a credential demonstrates to one’s community that the music therapist has been properly trained and is equipped to carry out his or her duties. To sit for the credential exam (board certification), an individual must meet the requirements set forth by the American Music Therapy Association (AMTA), which is currently (2018) a bachelor’s degree in music therapy from an AMTA approved school and 1200 clinical training hours.

Licensure is the state of Wisconsin’s grant of legal authority for a person with the MT-BC credential to practice professionally within the designated scope of practice. Learn more on our page ABOUT: Wisconsin Chapter for Music Therapy

Certification formally recognizes a music therapist’s additional qualifications in a certain subject. A certificate program results in a certificate of completion in a complicated music therapy subject matter beyond the educational degree. There are additional certifications, designations and training’s that music therapists obtain that are not listed on this website.

Types of Music Therapy Services: General Definitions

Please note that WCMT is NOT a provider of music therapy services. It is the responsibility of the consumer to communicate directly with a music therapist about the details and types of services desired. The definitions below are for a general reference only and each music therapist does things in their own way.

Contract for music therapy groups or direct individual service

An initial assessment may be conducted and functional goals developed before ongoing, regular treatment begins. Sessions could be in the 45-60 minute range with time built in for processing with families, data, and cleaning of instruments and supplies to follow safety precautions. Individual sessions are tailored to the individual’s needs. Small groups (3-6) tend to have individuals with similar functioning levels and with similar interests. Small group sessions provide more general music therapy with maybe one goal per person, while having the advantage of opportunities to interact with and learn from peers. Large groups (10-20) tend to have group goals.

Adaptive music lessons

These are typically individual music lessons for children through adults with disabilities or health conditions. Music therapists are trained to understand a wide variety of disabilities and medical conditions as well as how to adapt methods to best meet the individual’s needs so that success and optimal learning can take place.

Consultation

Music Therapists may guide the incorporation of music as a tool into routines. Consultation may be designed for parents, teachers, therapists or activity professionals (e.g. music listening programs)

Community or educational presentations

Presentations could be anywhere from 30-90 minutes on a variety of music therapy informed topics, such as Neurologic Music Therapy, Music Therapy and Elderly Wellness. Populations that music therapists speak on may include Alzheimer’s / Dementia, Autism Spectrum Disorder, Cancer, and many more.

Business Coaching or Clinical Supervision

Business coaching for music therapists (for example starting a private practice). Clinical supervision for music therapy students needing required hours to meet educational requirements and/or professionals seeking further support and insight.